Beauty Tips

How To Clean Makeup Brushes?!

I never clean my brushes! Which is the worst thing to do honestly, I never thought about how much bacteria is actually on them. Just the other day I went to use my pressed powder brush and it smelled like FISH! EW I know, the horror was real! I was so grossed out, so of course I am now making it my mission to inform everyone on why it is so important to keep your brushes clean!

makeup-microbiology-9.jpg

I am sorry I had to show that, I shiver everytime I see it! It sure does motivate me to clean my brushes though. So I am going to go step by step the best and easiest way I have found to clean my brushes. Now you should be cleaning powder based brushes every week and cream shadows/liquid brushes every other day! (wow I never clean them)

Step One:

Hold your brushes under lukewarm water, the bristles facing downwards.

Step Two:

Put some baby shampoo into your palm and swirl the brush around.

Step Three:

Rinse the brush, bristles facing down! If the water runs clean you are good to go. If not, repeat step two.

Step Four:

Squeeze out any excess water, and lay the brushes on a towel to air dry.

That is all, quick and painless!

*I am also going to try using vinegar once in a while to sanitize them. *

 

Leave a Reply

